Getting To Know You (Again)

As I’m sitting on the couch, in my fuzziest pyjamas, wrapped up in a thick blanket, hating winter and counting down the minutes until it is summertime again, I glance to where my husband is sitting. And there he is, in shorts, not a care in the world or a concern of hypothermia.

His hands are, as usual, warm, while mine feel like I had just plunged them in cold water.

I don’t understand how this could happen. The man is never cold!

Then again, this is just one of the many things I learned about Ahmad since we have gotten married. I’m sure he’s gathered a wealth of information about me too. Poor him.

I can’t say this enough though: I am loving marriage and every moment of it.

Now that the planning pressure has gone, we finally have the time again to talk about deeper issues. We can strike up a conversation at any moment, in any room. Sometimes we don’t even talk, but we can still tell what the other is thinking or feeling. I’ll take that any day over having to send emails or text messages.

What I loved the most about when we were dating was how much we would talk. On every date, I felt like I learned something new about him, gained insight to how he thought about the world, and got a great laugh.

It never went away- but I feel it just took a backseat during the past year when more important topics like centerpieces and wedding playlists took center stage.

It’s true when they say that no matter how long you have been together, it’s nothing like when you’re living together. Nothing gets filtered out and no one is trying to impress the other. I call this peak comfort level.

It’s like having a date that just never ends- that’s a good thing by the way.

Plus, old habits die really, really hard. I learned that first firsthand.

In the first few weeks of our marriage, I tried to show Ahmad that I could be as organized as him. I carefully put away my clothes the moment I came back from work and left no dishes on the counter for less than a few minutes. But that’s not really me: I might not put things away immediately but they get done!  So I reverted back to my old habits.

In this short period of time, I’ve learned that despite all the common interests we have, we are still two very different people. He’s definitely the calmer one while I’m all about organized chaos. I don’t know if in the future this will be a problem for us, but I’m hoping it can be avoided.

Nothing is a better reflection to that than  our sleeping habits. I feel this picture I found on Buzzfeed best describes me:

unnamed

The best part is that I can send this to Ahmad and we both laugh at how true it is, how it happens almost every night, and yet he never complains.

I guess he’s getting to know me again too.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. mterrazas32 says:

    You should ask your husband to do a post for you. Always awesome to hear the other side of the story:)

    1. TK says:

      I actually have asked him and he says he will get around to doing it, he just hasn’t found the time for it yet. But expect to hear his PoV very soon.

  2. serenaglow says:

    Love your posts as always 🙂 your story reminds me of my own relationship… With my own “Ahmad” :))

    1. TK says:

      Thank you for reading! I wish you all the happiness with your partner 🙂

Leave a Reply

