A Pop Of Color

I didn’t see my bouquet until the day of the wedding- which to any bride is panic-inducing and a cause for many sleepless nights. But I had complete trust in my florist and what he had in mind for the big day. Of course, I didn’t leave it all up to him- lest there be an ultimate catastrophe.

As with all of our vendors, I had a set of clear guidelines and in this case I only asked for three things:

  1. To include tulips somehow. Tulips are my favorite flowers and their inclusion was meant to honor the time I spent studying in the Netherlands, incorporating something personal into something so prominent.
  2. To not go the traditional route and include white roses. I also don’t like white roses.
  3. To take into consideration that I had picked a funky color for my shoes and since they were going to be hidden under the massive gown, to make the color pop out in the bouquet.

I have to say, when he sent me a picture hours before the event, I got really excited. He beautifully combined the pink tulips with a dark purple freesia for that true pop of color.And he wrapped it all with a similar matching purple ribbon.It also smelled really good. But they never tell you though that bridal bouquets are actually very heavy to carry around.

DSC_0007

Going over the wedding pictures, which we finally got yesterday, I was highly impressed that the flowers contrasted with the white background that was my gown. I wish the shoes would have shown but that’s okay, I knew it wouldn’t happen anyway.

Speaking of the wedding, it’s a great story to tell that all our invitees woke up the next day with aches in their feet while I got into even higher heels  the next day and barely complained. Those were very comfortable platform heels so I got to dance the night away, they looked pretty, and they were unique.

PS: Our friends Lamis and Alain are here, playing Monopoly Deal- and she would kill me if I didn’t give them a shout out. So hello guys! And Alain, please stop winning!

Leave a Reply

