You Can’t Make Everyone Happy

on

The working world can be harsh and unforgiving.

A single mistake can mean someone’s whole opinion of you can change in that instant and no matter what you do, they’ll always see you as not doing enough, that you’re not cut out for the responsibilities you have been handed. Unfortunately for me, I think I just learned this lesson today.

The days of graduate school are long gone.
The days of graduate school are long gone.

I’ve been working for a few years now, but nowhere near enough to say that I am well versed in how workplace interactions go about. I can’t even say I know my job 100%. There are days when I go into the office and I feel confident and capable- ready to almost take on the world. But on the flip side, there are days when I wonder what I’m doing there, who tasked me with all these duties and was confident enough to let me make decisions that can affect people’s lives in some way (even in a tiny capacity).

But I try as hard as possible to not let anyone around me sense my conflicting feelings, and I try to show that even if I don’t know how to do something, I’m not afraid to ask for help from my superiors. That should count for something right?

We’re always taught about how making an effort always matters, but I guess that’s works better on paper than in reality.

Because in reality, there are some people waiting for you to mess up so they can come out and say you’re not dedicated to the job. They might go so far as to say they don’t want to work with you. And just like that, all the hard work you’ve been putting in for so long is thrown out of the window.

It’s hard not to take it personally even though these things happen all the time. Their motivation to say these things might not even have anything to do with you, you’re just the scapegoat of they’re having a bad day. Or whatever.

But you have to remember that you can’t make everyone happy. Just go get your tasks done to the best of your abilities  and if it makes you and your supervisor happy, why should it matter what anyone else thinks?

Leave a Reply

