We Continue to Move

If they assessed marriageability based upon the ability to fold towels, I would be written off as completely unsuitable. No matter how hard I try and no matter how much my poor mother tries to teach me, I just end up doing it in the wrong way.

Hey, who knew there was one pre-defined method to store your bath towels and wavering from it would mean that bedlam was imminent? Because apparently in my house that’s the way it goes.

But we did erupt into a massive fit of giggles every time I tried and failed to have all the corners align. In case you’re wondering, yes I was so bad at math so yes geometry is not my strong suit. Luckily for me, my mom pitched in to save me from making a fool out of myself in front of the future husband.

This was all after we emptied out 12 bags and suitcases worth of things. No, that wasn’t a miscalculation. We hauled over TWELVE bags from my parents’ house to mine, full of clothes and personal items, and still my mother was convinced that she didn’t get me enough things for me to count as a married woman.

I didn’t take that many suitcases when I lived abroad for a year!

The jehez strikes again, ladies and gents. Just when we thought it was over and done with.

Sure, it’s nice to have a lot of new, never-worn things that you bought a year ago. Sure, it feels like a nice present to myself. But I had actually forgotten all about so many things because this was a year long process. The second question I asked myself was when would I get a chance to wear all of this?! At the end of the day, I’m just going to revert back to my jeans and comfortable shirts.

I’m rolling my eyes just at the thought of that. But that’s another story for another day.

You know what though?

I could not have moved today without the help of my mother. Call it experience or call it insight, but she just came into the dressing room and started sorting things out in her own way- with my guidance of course. I was in awe of the way she worked, quickly yet transforming the boring closets we have into our own.

If I had to do it on my own, I would still be at my house till this hour, buried in a pile of suitcases, trying to figure out why we bought so many towels and how the hell they are supposed to fit. I would’ve figured it out eventually, but not quickly enough. So a word of advice to all brides-to-be, do not do this without your mom if you have the chance. Even if you have been butting heads for a while about wedding planning, nothing will make your relationship stronger and closer than sharing this. Plus the hug she will give you when it is all over is worth everything.

Trust me.

Oh and while I had promised myself I would not become the kind of person that has so much stuff she cannot share the space with her husband, I had to take entire chest of drawers, leaving Ahmad without one he really needed for his items. Yup, I’m feeling guilty here.

Too many pjs I guess?

At the end of the day, the more frequent these moving trips are becoming, the readier and happier I have been feeling. As you know, I have been famously hesitant and worried and anxious about this whole step.

But when I see it come together all in front of my own eyes and I see our little touches and things all over the place, I can’t help but take a step back and look in awe that we have truly done this.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. directorb says:

    Best of luck on your move!

Leave a Reply

