Attending a Wedding as a Bride-to-Be

on

When your wedding planning has hit its stride and you find yourself invited to a wedding, it can be the hardest thing in the universe to completely disconnect and enjoy the whole event like any other guest.

And that’s not only because people will keep reminding you that you’re next and/or keep asking you about how you’re going to be doing things.

I felt like I was taking notes the whole of yesterday night, even though that wasn’t my intention.

I wanted to dance and clap and cheer with abandon but there was this nagging voice in my head that this is too great of a chance to waste to see how these things go.

In the past, I didn’t get the chance to attend many weddings so I wasn’t really familiar with how they go until I started planning my own. It just so happened that when I got engaged, the invitations started coming in.

And so the research phase started. It’s been helpful so far.

For example, I’m finding that making up the timeline for it is harder than I expected. So the chance to see how someone else does it is very important.

Do you open the buffet after the couple have made their entrance or do you linger around greeting people? Do you have speeches or would you rather have music during the dinner portion of the night? When does all the dancing start?

Seeing how others have done it really makes it less confusing. There’s only so much Pinterest and wedding websites can do.

And better yet, it’s the best research to see what songs get the party started. Especially if you’re clueless about Arabic music and that’s all what people want to hear. There a few songs that you would really never hear anywhere else other than a wedding. I feel like our DJ is going to have his work cut out for him.

I feel like since I’ve kept my eyes and ears open in the past two years, I’ve gathered up ideas from all the weddings we have attended. It’s not a very far stretch for me to make a list of what we liked and disliked at each one and bring those together for our own wedding. I feel more confident approaching our vendors because I have now seen what works and what doesn’t, what we strongly feel about and what we don’t.

They say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Well, I’m not trying to imitate anyone, but navigating this weird and confusing landscape of wedding planning would not have been possible without gathering all these ideas and all the discussions I’ve had with friends who are married or about to.

Leave a Reply

