To-Do List

on

I just want to sit and binge-watch Jeopardy until I can be able to give out the clues instead of answering them. Instead, I’m sitting here making a list of things that are left for the wedding, the move, and the honeymoon. I need this list because I keep telling everyone who asks me anything, ‘I’ll do it after Ramadan.’

Spoiler alert: there’s a lot of unpacking involved.

Well, Ramadan ends either tomorrow or the day after, so I’m running out of time. And there’s so much to be done. These are what’s at the top of my head right now:

  • Find curtains for the living room and the dining room
  • Hang up the curtains for all the other rooms in the house
  • Begin packing up my personal things, especially all my books
  • Clean the house, hang up clothes
  • Do all the dishes
  • Find wedding shoes that are of the right height, right color, and won’t make me cry in pain the whole night
  • Decide on a wedding look, including finding the right hairstylist (and we all know I have the worst luck with hairdressers)
  • Get the dress fitted + ensure that all accessories are in place
  • Inform the mothers of my flower girls about the color of dresses I want them to wear
  • Make needed arrangements for the katb kteb, including getting the dreaded blood testing
  • Sort of the souvenirs for the katb kteb
  • Actually, everything that has to do with that major event that’s all about getting married actually
  • Meet with the DJ and try as hard as possible not to clash with him over song selections
  • Figure out what to do for the entrance since we’re skipping the traditional Lebanese zaffe
  • Wedding cake?
  • Decide what to do about the wedding list/registry
  • Finalize the invitations, print them, and distribute them to the invitees. Try not to panic about the responses, especially if they aren’t up to our expectations
  • Finalize the menu with the caterers
  • Finalize the table arrangements + decor of the venue
  • Arrange the seating- or maybe I will forgo this entirely?
  • Set a timeline for the day of the wedding and communicate this with all our vendors
  • Try as hard as possible to lose whatever weight I can
  • Stick to a beauty regime, something I am failing hard at right now
  • Confirm our hotel and flight reservations for the honeymoon
  • Find places of interest and document them so we won’t miss out on anything on our trip

But mostly, remember to breathe and have fun through this all, maybe?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. That is quite a list! When is the big day? Good luck! Feel free to check out our blog, http://www.twinspiration.co 🙂

  2. Busy times ahead. I hope you get time to breath! Just a couple of questions:

    1. Have you had dishes building up over the course of Ramadan? that must be a lot of dishes…

    2. What is katb kteb, and why does it require a blood test? Actually, I can’t wait for a reply so I’ll just google it. Okay, I got it!

  3. You have left an important item off your list and that is,’ what have I forgotten to put on this list?
    Just joking of course. Everything will go according to plan and be fabulous for you both.

Leave a Reply

