Something Different

on

No, I don’t want to put the cups in my cabinets with the rim facing downwards, because it just doesn’t make sense to me.

No, I don’t want to put a giant plant in the corner of the dining room just because we have empty spaces to fill. What’s wrong with leaving empty spaces for the time being?

No, I don’t want to put the flower girls at the wedding in all white dresses, because I want my single bridezilla moment to be about me being the only one wearing white at the wedding.

No, I don’t want to wear nylon socks with my wedding shoes no matter how much they might make standing in heels better. It just doesn’t look good.

No, I don’t want to make my grand entrance to the typical, traditional music choices because they don’t represent who I am or this relationship that I share with my partner.

Why does it have to be that every time we think of doing something different than the expectations or the norms or we try to go slightly different that tradition, I have to hear subtle hints that what we’re doing is wrong?

But not that different!

I just don’t understand why there has to be one single way to do everything and deviating from that one single way means that you don’t respect tradition, don’t listen to your elders, and are distancing yourself from society?

Well, I respect and love tradition. Weddings get to me every single time because of their ability to bring traditions to the forefront.

I can’t make major decisions before consulting my parents because I respect them and know that I can benefit so much from their experience and advice.

And I definitely do not want to be an outsider. You can never truly escape where you come from and who you are, and that’s not what I’m trying to do.

I’m just trying to do whatever makes Ahmad and I happy and that means putting our own spin on things.

Why can’t they see that and take their unwanted advice elsewhere?

I’m tired of having to listen to everything while being extremely patient and on my best behavior. Sometimes I really want to scream and ask to be left alone because no one understands why or what we’re doing.

Look, I’m not asking you to be happy for me if you’re not. I’m not asking for your validation because I know we are happy and that’s all that matters.

But if you really want to open your mouth and have words tumble out randomly, just say congratulations. It doesn’t have to be sincere. But it will do. Trust me, it will do.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. serenaglow says:

    Cool :)) stay tough, stick to your guns 💪🏽‼️

  2. Good for you. Stick to your guns. It’s your wedding. I’m sure everyone will enjoy your nuptials and all these trials and tribulations will rapidly fade away. I bet that many of the attendees wish they could do it your way too.

Leave a Reply

