Families and Families-in-Law

on

Nothing can motivate someone quite like a mother does. So imagine if two happened to meet to discuss all the upcoming events. You’re bound to end up with an interesting perspective on things.

I’ve written before on the wonderful relationship I have with my mother-in-law and how much I hate the sterotypes on this subject. I’ve also probably mentioned that all this insane planning and keeping my sanity throughout could not have been possible without the support and love of my mother.

So when the two of them meet, as they recently did, and we’re sitting in listenting in, we get a fresh look at things. We’d be thinking about something for months and then the mothers meet and our plans suddenly change.

image

Now, we don’t always agree with them. After all there’s a lot that’s changed since our parents have gotten married, and there’s been some areas of conflict-especially because I can be so headstrong sometimes. But I cannot deny the influence they have.

At the end of the day, the wedding is to share our happiness with our families and loved ones- and I do not want to disappoint or make someone close feel like their opinion was not considered.

Plus, it’s always funny to see how each one of them tries to be the “typical Arab mom,” showing off how she raised her offspring better and how the other is lucky to be marrying into the family- jokingly of course.

I couldn’t be more thrilled everytime I see the two families coming together or planning visits or even just text messaging. It is such a wonderful and comforting thought to know that they support us and stand by us at the end of the day.

One Comment Add yours

  1. You are fortunate indeed. I know people who have almost needed conflict resolution experience when dealing with two sets of adoring parents.

Leave a Reply

