The Guest List: Take Three

Of the hardest things I’ve had to do, setting the guest list has been the hardest of them all. It’s such a daunting task when you are trying to limit who you want to share your big day with because you have a budget and catering constraints.

It’s so tough that we still don’t have a final list- and we keep making changes based upon who has promised to come and who most likely won’t.

I have anxieties about going under the number we booked just as much as exceeding it.

So it doesn’t help when even the closest of family members want to weigh in, trying to make changes based on how they want.

image

Seriously, if I hear one more time about a friend or family member that has a wedding coming up before us and who had a considerable number of people not show up, I will lose it. I believe that if you wish for something hard enough it will happen- positive or negative. So the insistance that friends of ours who live abroad and had promised to come eventually won’t just totally frustrates me.

Who are you to say?

Another thing I never expected is for people to be inconsiderate of the circumstances and the tight budget we are working with.

As much as I love children, I don’t see the point why I have to invite an 8 and a 5 year old to the wedding, especially that they don’t have any part to play in the whole event and will probably be bored out of their minds and run around the venue to take out their pent-up energy.

The worst part was that their parents were already planning their oufits and asking for my input on them while I just sat there not knowing how to tell them, “Sorry but your kids are not invited.”

I’m generally a non-confrontational person but this topic is frustrating me too much to a point that I instantly snap when it comes up. Why does it have to be so hard to explain that the event is only for close family and dear friends?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Life certainly wasn’t meant to be easy.

  2. I dealt with the same problems for my big day, and didn’t invite any kids 😀

  3. serenaglow says:

    They can get babysitters. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

