When It’s Just Not Your Day in the Kitchen

on

I had this brilliant idea to bake a Red Velvet cake just because we don’t have anything sweet around the house. I didn’t want to go through the hassle of making the whole thing from scratch so I actually went out and got a Better Crocker mix- better be safe than sorry, I thought.

image

Except I was oh so very sorry when the cake stuck to the pan and I had to throw almost half of it away as it crumbled into tiny cake pieces. And of course, it completely spread around the whole kitchen leaving little flecks of red cake everywhere.

So I cleaned it, like any normal person would do.

At least what was left of the cake tasted semi-good.

I did not expect another mishap coming my way when it was time for lunch. I thought I’d do something healthy and filling for a change and make some marinated chicken and a side of qunioa. Should be easy, I thought.

I was (half) wrong again!

While the chicken was absolutely easy to do, I ended up spilling tiny seeds all over as I tried to undo the packaging that contained the qunioa. And if you have ever dealth with it you know how tiny it is and how impossible it can be to clean it up.

image

Thankfully, I managed to salvage what I could from what was spilled and brought in the vaccuum cleaner to take care of the mess. At that point, the headache kicked in badly and I just wanted to cry.

It’s been a tough few weeks for no apparent reason and today just made it all worse.

But at least I did not go hungry and the end product was good and delicious. Still, I can’t help but feel like I’ve failed at trying to manage a house at the same time as being a full time employee.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Uday says:

    Ahhh we all have these days, happens to the best of us. Anyway out of curiosity, you didn’t line your cake tin with baking paper?

    1. TK says:

      No, I did not! I oiled up the baking tin before I put in the batter but nothing else. It also turns out I had used the wrong tin to begin with for reasons I don’t know. Lesson learned!

      1. Uday says:

        After a couple of disasters with ‘oil and flour sprinkle’, I learnt to not bake without butter paper! It just makes life so much easier! I once had a delicious cake that had to be turned into crumble as I couldn’t get it out in one piece.

  2. artman413 says:

    I’ve had days like that. Definitely not fun.

    But then the next day you produce something truly wonderful and realize it’s not so bad after all.

    1. TK says:

      It was also not fun because my mother had been abroad for a month and left me in charge of running the house. She called it an “Experiment” before I get married. She was coming back the next day and I really did not one bad day to negate all the other good things I had done in her absence.

      1. artman413 says:

        Oohh…that doesn’t sound like a fun ‘experiment’ at all.

        1. TK says:

          Nope! I managed, somehow. But it felt more frustrating than a “learning experience.” She’s back now, thankfully, and order has been restored in the house!

  3. Hayley says:

    You are not a failure! (A clumsy day is all it was I’m sure!) We all have them – where one thing goes from bad to the next! If we didn’t have those bad days to compare to – the better days would seem less…well better! 🙂 I bet tomorrow you’ll ace everything you set your mind to 😉

    1. TK says:

      Thank you for the words of encouragement Hayley! It was a bit frustrating because I’m trying to prove to myself that I can be good at everything I set my mind to, but I also kind of forgot to take it easy on myself and just make mistakes to be able to learn from them 😀

      1. Hayley says:

        I learnt a great phrase from the children at school which I have to remind myself to apply to my own life at times – FAIL stands for First Attempt In Learning! Your cake will taste delicious next time I bet 😉 save me a slice!

  4. Sounds just like a normal morning at breakfast in Cassa Creakingbones. Welcome to the club.

    1. TK says:

      That comment made me laugh hard, thanks for the pick-me-up 😀

Leave a Reply

