Four Months to Go

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve heard people tell me that I started planning too late, that everyone starts looking and booking for their wedding at least a year ahead.

But since February, we have managed to book the venue, the caterer, the dress, and the florist. The sound and light services were included in the venue package too. Basically all we now need is a photographer and wedding invitations and we’re good to go.

There are still four more months to go- and the big stuff is behind us. Of course, there’s still some work to be done in picking out the music, the wedding favors, setting up a schedule for the day, adding some decorative items, but most can be done without the effort of meeting with so many different wedding vendors.

And I really can’t understand why people say it can’t be done on short notice. It’s not like we needed to compromise on anything or any of our ideas. I even think we saw too many venues just to confirm to ourselves that the one we picked was the right choice.

Even the house is almost ready to be moved into.

If you open the cabinets in our kitchen, you’ll find plates, mugs, pans, and plenty of storage containers. You walk into our living room and the TV is already there. Our couches and chairs are just begging for the plastic to be removed.I don’t even know what their texture feels like anymore because I’ve gotten used to that plastic feeling!

It’s true that it’s not complete yet. We don’t have curtains, our artwork isn’t hanging up, our closets are still empty, and our bookcase has more dust than books.There’s also plenty of clutter that’s in need of sorting out before the space is complete. But I know we’re there. I know that this will be home.

But for now, we’re just waiting it out. A wait that I never thought I couldn’t endure. It’s now getting too tough to just sit around and count down days as I get more and more excited about everything we’re doing.

I can’t wait to start sending out the invitations, to try on my dress after it comes back from alternations, to see my family at its happiest, to dance all night with our friends, to celebrate love with the one I love.

I can’t wait to move my things just 10 minutes down the road, to add photographs everywhere, to set up my grandfather’s desk in its new spot, to just come home from work and know that I am home with my soulmate.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. It’ll be there before you know it. Good for you that you were able to do everything and not stress about being “too late” – that’s such a relative phrase.

    1. TK says:

      Time is flying by so fast so I agree that it’ll be here before I know it. I guess not being late has a lot to do with the fact that the whole event will be very simple and easy going.

      1. Simple is always better. Less distraction, more interaction. 🙂

  2. Seems to me that all your dreams are coming true.

    1. TK says:

      That’s very sweet of you to say! Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

