Up For All The Chores

You’d think that having lived alone for a year would’ve gotten me used to doing all the housework. But the truth is it hasn’t really done much because being a graduate student is a lot different than being a working woman- and I have a lot more space to take care of now than I did then.

My mother thinks I’m lazy or that I keep putting off my share of the housework- and that’s true most of the time. I’m not unclean or disorganized but I don’t see a problem if I don’t hang my clothes the moment I get from work or if I don’t instantly wash my dishes. Part of the problem is that with her around I don’t have to worry much.

But when she’s away for a whole month? Oh, that’s a different story! I can’t stand to see the house looking anything but like it came out of a magazine.

In one very short weekend, I’ve managed to cook lunch for three people, do the dishes about three times, pick up and fold and put away laundry, iron (while finally getting around to watching The Fault in Our Stars), water the plants, go to the supermarket, prepare ingredients for tomorrow’s dinner, and make a salad to take with me to work.

That particular one was a challenge for me. Since I’m now all about living a healthy life and eating right and clean, the last thing I want to do is let time and tiredness get in the way of my daily salad lunch. And I’m so used to mom waking up with me and getting it ready so I don’t have to think twice about it. I’m not spoiled, she just enjoys doing it.

But I found it can be quite easy to just prepare it the night before, refrigerate, and then just take everything and go in the morning. I couldn’t be prouder of myself.

And because I’ve had this urge to bake for about a week now, I finally got around to doing that tonight- Apparently, that couldn’t wait a bit longer. I made blondies (the non-chocolate version of brownies) with a Nutella core, and they are just amazing as the recipe promised. They didn’t hold together while I was trying to cut them but at least they taste good!

I think I proved to myself first and foremost that when I set my mind to something I can do it.

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I find myself going into the anxiety-ridden place in my mind where I start to beat myself up and wonder how will I ever manage to work and take care of my home. I always have this fear that I won’t be able to catch up and we’ll spend most of the time ordering out (which I really do hate). I know that Ahmad will help but I fear falling short on my share of things.

But if this weekend is any indication, then it should be a piece of cake- or sort of.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. serenaglow says:

    Love your blog posts! :)))

  2. newwhitebear says:

    So you survived for one year alone. Then you know all the housework and you’re not starving.

    1. TK says:

      Indeed! No one is hungry and the house is spotless. So I’d say this was a success

Leave a Reply

