Love Will Get You Through

When I hit publish on Friday’s post “A Lebanese Woman and a Palestinian Man,” I never expected that people would actually take time out of their busy lives to read what I had to say about my relationship with my fiance and the struggle we had to face to become engaged.

I was completely taken by surprise when the comments started flooding in from family members, college friends, school friends, my Writing 101 classmates, and people from all walks of life. And all those comments were positive and encouraging and just so full of love. I can’t begin to describe how much Ahmad and I appreciate all the things you had to say.

What had seemed to be the greatest frustration for us at the time when we made our decision to be together is now one of the foundations that make us a stronger and a happier couple.

There’s been plenty of changes, I guess- and I have to owe them to the power of love. No, I don’t mean the Celine Dion song (eww), but something that I had always doubted in until this guy came into my life.

One of those has been how I look at weddings.

To those of you who have been reading this blog since its start, you know that I haven’t been exactly pro-weddings. But also, maybe I came off as too harsh when I first started writing about my journey to marriage.

I’m still very much against spending everything you have or even taking out a loan to have the most extravagant thing that only ends up looking like everything else being done, as you see and hear constantly.

But I am not anti-traditional or against love or against making my loved ones happy.

As things are coming together for our wedding and it’s getting closer and closer, I can see why people invest their time and energy into making this the best night of their lives.

It’s a celebration of love: romantic, family, friends, the love of life, the love of being young and the love of being happy.

And to stand in the face of that would be utterly stupid, especially when I’m seeing that the event can be done while being on a budget and saying true to who you are.

When I start to feel too overwhelmed by the whole process, I stop for a second and remind myself of the above and how excited our families and friends are for us.

But most importantly, I remind myself that I love and trust this person enough to do something that scared me the most just a few years ago. Because I believe that love can get us through.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. HumaAq says:

    It’s beautiful thought. I’m glad i get to enjoy your journey to walk down the aisle. You are doing great..:)

    1. TK says:

      I am glad I get to share this journey with incredible and supportive people like yourself!

      1. HumaAq says:

        I’m glad to be here:)

  2. e says:

    Just read the initial piece to catch up! Awesomeness!!!

  3. A.B Mood says:

    You see I wasn’t wrong.. You guys are my Relationship Milestone that I want to achieve one day :’) ❤ Allah bless the both of you forever and ever and ever! ❤

    1. TK says:

      AB! Inshalla you will have a beautiful relationship with an amazing partner! I wish you nothing but the best always ❤

      1. A.B Mood says:

        ^_^ Thank you so much love ❤

  4. ninakimani11 says:

    Love will get you through. That’s the most important thing. All the best as you prepare for your big day 🙂

    1. TK says:

      Thank you for those sweet words of encouragement!

  5. artman413 says:

    Well, that was a nice bit of sunshine for the day (ok, it’s a sunny day, but still).

    Your story’s really quite amazing, and I love how you’ve taken all the difficulties along the road in stride. Best of luck to the both of you!

    1. TK says:

      You’re in the UAE, you’ve got sunshine almost everyday 😛

      Thank you for those lovely words, it’s been tough at some times but we have been able to make through and it is paying off.

Leave a Reply

