15 Questions- The Liebster Award

Well, this is very humbling. Here I am, a simple girl blogging about her journey through engagement and growing up, and four people, yes four, nominated me for another award.

As a start, I would like to thank the bloggers behind Bali Info, Finkelstein and Sons, and Stranger in a Strange Mind, and A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That  for their nomination. Please go and check their blogs. While they couldn’t be more different, what they do have in common is that they are all talented and their blogs entertaining- and I read them on a daily basis.

Because I can’t possibly answer all the questions I’ve been asked, I’ve selected a few ones which you can find below. I also won’t be doing the nominations bit because all my favorite blogs have been nominated for the award- so I’m at a loss for who to choose!

1. Why did you start your blog?

Initially, this blog started out in 2011 to document my life in the Netherlands as a graduate student. I didn’t take it seriously and ended up blogging very sporadically and then gave up once the course ended. I picked it up again just after my 24th birthday this year because I needed a space to vent and document my experiences, especially since so much is happening!

Dridelpunt, 2011. Where the borders of the Netherlands, Germany, and Belgium meet!

2. Where do you see yourself in 10 years time?

I’d love to have published a novel or a collection of short stories! I also see myself in a senior position at work and definitely travelling the world with my sweetheart..

3. Do you have any hidden talents?

I actually sing and was part of the school choir well into my school years. I’m also a good chef, though I don’t get to cook very often.

4. Writing or typing?

Keyboard mashing, definitely! It’s much easier for me this way to just let loose and write what’s on my mind without having to think of wasting space and paper. Plus, I get so tired from handwriting all day long at work so this is actually a welcome break for me!

5. What does a healthy lifestyle mean to you?

Feeling comfortable in your own skin, varying your diet, working out, not stressing over work and the simple things, finding time in your life for the people you love and the things you like to do.

6. What is your ultimate guilty pleasure?

Jeopardy! I can watch hours of the show and never get bored! Something about feeling smarter just gets to me.

7. What is the happiest place in the world, according to you?

I have to say, it’s where my loved ones are, which is logistically impossible right now because we’re all over the world. Guess it makes it all the more special!

8. What’s the last thing you think about before going to bed?

I’m actually going to say Good Night to Ahmad tonight. But I never do, because I end up falling asleep while holding my phone or book. One day!

9. What’s your favorite word, in any language? 

I guess I lived in the Netherlands for far too long because I absolutely love the word gezellig! No, I can’t pronounce it, and no, it doesn’t have a specific meaning, but it just gets to me, every single time. It’s mostly used to describe ” cosy, fun, quaint, or nice atmosphere, but can also connote belonging, time spent with loved ones, the fact of seeing a friend after a long absence, or general togetherness that gives a warm feeling,” as per Wikipedia. So why wouldn’t it be my favorite?

10. What makes you smile, no matter how grumpy you’re feeling?

Whenever I feel down, I like to get in the car, go on a road-trip and sing at the top of my lungs.

11. What personality trait or quirk of yours do people notice the most?

Everyone always notices that I’m very attentive to details because I always point out things that they might have not seen. Not a bad trait to have especially in my line of work.

12. Did you always know that you were going to write ?

I started writing at the age of 4 and I haven’t looked back since then.

13. What do you feel most confident about?

My knowledge! I absolutely hate it when someone tries to prove me wrong about something I’m so sure about

14. What are the things are you thankful for in life?

My health and the health of my loved ones. Seriously, we underestimate how important this is but without our health we are unable to do anything. I’m also thankful for my wonderful family, my supportive and loving fiance, and having a stable job that allows me to do something I enjoy!

15. Your idea of a perfect holiday?

Walking through an unknown city and discovering its gems, visiting museums, trying out new restaurants, making memories in every single corner. And definitely getting lost and opening a map in the middle of the street, like I once did in Greece.

6 Comments Add yours

    1. TK says:

      Indeed! 😀

Leave a Reply

