Here Comes The Groom

I have always discussed with Tala how under appreciated the Groom is on his wedding day, All the attention is focused on the Bride; it’s her big day and she’s been dreaming about it her entire life. The Groom is just the guy who will show up in all (read: a couple) of the pictures with the fabulous-looking Bride.

Why am I guest-posting and writing about this? Because as a soon-to-be Groom, I want to be an integral part of this wedding and its planning. Heck I want to be involved in the smallest of details. That PMP certification will not go to waste!

On top of the agenda, the suit.

I’ve been to numerous weddings, friends and family and whatnot, the Groom is always wearing a generic, ill-fitting “business” suit, not one bit suitable for a wedding, let alone a Groom- with some of the most outlandish ties and decorations that will make Tom Ford vomit in horror.

As always, I blame the lack of knowledge and involvement of the Groom in this whole wedding thing. After all, it is not his day.

I, on the other hand, am not planning to follow the trend. I want something custom-fit and not black. I don’t want to be mistaken for a waiter.

So the hunt has started for a tailor who could deliver what I have in mind, and oh boy the numbers I have heard so far rival what Tala had in mind for a wedding dress budget!

I am not trying to be cheap or anything, just reasonable. Paying that much for a tailor-made wedding suit/tux seems outlandish or for the fortunate few, but at the same time, it is my wedding and it is my big day and I want to stand out from all the crap in the market.

Until I find that tailor who will fulfill my vision (and not empty my savings account), I’ll keep looking around for inspirational suits and little details/ideas.

Side note: thank you Ryan Gosling for making it impossible for all other men to look this sharp:

image

Note: After several discussion and attempts, my fiance Ahmad finally agreed to guest post, writing from his point of view about wedding planning and the process. I hope you find his insights both helpful and entertaining. 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. HumaAq says:

    Good job on first write up! It was fun reading groom’s view

    1. TK says:

      He says thanks! I’m glad he finally did and hope he’ll contribute more soon

      1. HumaAq says:

        Tell him we’ll be waiting:)

      2. HumaAq says:

        I’m sure groom’s view would be interesting too

        1. TK says:

          Definitely. The thing is here people don’t talk about the downsides and stresses of weddings but also the grooms dont say anything. So we are trying to change that:)

          1. HumaAq says:

            I encourage you on that:)

Leave a Reply

