Honeymoon, Take One

on

I’ve become obsessed with Expedia. And who wouldn’t?

To be able to travel and see the world is the greatest satisfaction I can get and it just makes me incredibly happy. Imagine slaving away at a job for a whole year but then rewarding yourself with a trip. It just makes me so giddy thinking about it.

So naturally, the honeymoon planning is going to be my favorite of all the planning. Travelling and being with my love? Count me in! And since it’s going to be the first time ever that we’re going abroad together, it’s got to be special!
image

We haven’t really started researching so I can’t really give my insights and reflect upon the topic, but I’m starting to see a trend among the travel agencies. I think it’s scary that I see trends in everything, but I digress.

The trend has to do with locations- and I get it, the travel agencies have to cater to the demands of the market. But it just seems to me that the minute you announce to someone that you’re going on honeymoon, they will suggest one of the following places: Maldives, Thailand, Malaysia, Greece and Cyprus, if you’re looking for a beach experience.

Lying on a beach all day? That to me is a waste of a holiday. Sure, I love nothing more than reading by the pool, but for 8 days? I’ll pass.

Or they’ll suggest either Spain, Italy, and Istanbul if you’re looking for a city experience. But rarely anything else.

Most often these packages will involve hopping from one place to another, spending a lot of time in a coach bus with barely any leg room, and if you’re anything like me, barely any sleep. This is so you can maximize the sight-seeing. I like the idea of visiting Spain but doing that on my honeymoon doesn’t seem too appealing.

The question I have to ask here is “what makes a place suitable for a honeymoon?” and better yet, how do you define a place to be romantic? Shouldn’t it be about what the people enjoy and how they like? Or is it just about never leaving the hotel and lying by the pool?

Currently, our top selection isn’t super obscure but it’s not traditional. Which means that we’ll probably have to do it on our own and go through the whole process of organizing things, as well as risk it on the visa.

Speaking of the visa, I don’t even want to think about it just yet. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that things won’t get complicated. But we probably need to come to a decision soon about where to go, soon. Before embassy appointments start disappearing.

Back to Expedia I go.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Rimak18 says:

    One of my friends ditched the whole idea of a honeymoon by the beach as well. She is going on a two locations trip: Barcelona to watch their favorite team playing, and Euro Disney because well why not !:D As long as you are happy, why commit to what the market is trying to force upon you.

    1. TK says:

      Euro Disney! Now that’s an awesome trip! Good for them. I think we will definitely do something on our own, I prefer it that way. It’s just discouraging to see that the market is still offering the same places as it did 10 years ago.

  2. Hope you find your place. Why not go back to the Netherlands? You can explore new places, or visit your old favorite places and be a “tour guide” for your new husband? You can share what you loved and make it even more special and meaningful as you experience it with the one you love.

    1. TK says:

      I’ve actually suggested that! But the future husband seems hesitant about going to the lowlands especially with all the sterotypes about Amsterdam. I’m trying to see if we can stop for a day or two in the city in lived in but it depends on cost and time.

  3. HumaAq says:

    Place is not perfect as much as you can make it perfect and memorable for yourself and your partner. It’s not an easy decision, I struggle for a vacation spot when you are talking about honeymoon.. But I’m sure you’ll find something great and praying that visa officers go easy on you 😏

  4. Uday says:

    Have you people considered India? I know it’s not something that immediately comes to mind when you think “honeymoon”, but it can be quite an experience if you visit at the right time! 🙂 Nothing gets more romantic than the Taj Mahal!

    1. TK says:

      On the contrary I think India goes really well with the idea of a honeymoon: exploring, relaxing, taking in a new culture with someone who is equally as interested as you.

      But I think that due to time constraints we’ll probably stay closer to Lebanon so that we won’t spend more time on planes than in the cities.

      But I see it in our future 🙂

      1. Uday says:

        Well that’s awesome!! 🙂 You guys are definitely gonna love it!

        1. TK says:

          I’m sure! I’ll definitely ask for your recommendations of what to see when we do decide to visit 🙂

          1. Uday says:

            I’d be my pleasure! 🙂

    2. TK says:

      On the contrary I think India goes really well with the idea of a honeymoon: exploring, relaxing, taking in a new culture with someone who is equally as interested as you.

      But I think that due to time constraints we’ll probably stay closer to Lebanon so that we won’t spend more time on planes than in the cities.
      But I see it in our future 🙂

Leave a Reply

