An Encounter With the Housekeeper At My Gym

on

I went down to the locker room breathless and almost panting, after one intense workout. It had been a while since I pushed myself that hard but with the wedding coming up and the dreaded dress fitting somewhere in the near future, I need to lose some (read a lot) of weight.

What I didn’t expect was the following to happen.

“Hi! How are you?” I said to the housekeeper who sits in the corner of the ladies’ locker room. This is nothing new, I always greet her or any of the woman that happen to be on duty when I’m there.

“Good, and you?”

“Good,” I reply, open my locker, pack up my things and grab my gym bag, ready to go. Just as I’m about to exit, I hear her voice, “Did you stop coming?” she asks.

“No. Maybe I’ll stop for one week, but I always come back.”

“Because I see you all the time, and you’re still the same,” she says with concern.

“What do you mean?”

“You haven’t lost any weight. All that effort is going to waste.” Her tone is a bit more stern as she refers to my heavy breathing and red face.

Puzzled, I reply, “Maybe it’s the food. I love food. I’m probably not eating right.”

You should diet,” she says, like it’s the easiest thing in the world. Because I can just wake up one day and magically lose weight because I’m on a diet. I tried hard not to roll my eyes. There’s a reason why I dislike gym locker rooms, and why after two and a half years, I don’t talk to anyone there.

“Maybe.”

“You’ve lost weight in your hips and thighs, but your stomach, nothing.”

“Uhhh, yeah, thanks for pointing that out. I’ll try harder. See you next time. Bye!”

With that, I left the gym, wondering why she truly felt the need to weigh in (pun intended) on my issues and my figure. Maybe she’s been talking to the salesladies that I’ve encountered while shopping for a wedding dress? All I know is that now I’m under even more scrutiny to shed before I wed.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. baliinfoblog says:

    Yuck! As if we are not hard enough on ourselves. We really do not need anyone else criticising!

    1. TK says:

      Exactly! I already have a mental image of my wedding dress to push me to lose weight. I don’t know if she was trying to motivate me or if she’s affected by the chatter she hears from the other women who come in. But whatever the reason, it would’ve been best not to say anything unless I asked her opinion.

      1. baliinfoblog says:

        Precisely what I think. we have mirrors, and know what we look like! Obviously you are making an effort by going to the gym. To be told it’s making no difference is just plain mean!

  2. Nooryak says:

    hate that lady !

    1. TK says:

      Me too! I felt like being nice to her and saying hi completely backfired on me.

      1. Nooryak says:

        just ignore :S

  3. mterrazas32 says:

    Some people are just rude. I want to go to Beirut and just slap that lady. Don’t let people like that spool your day and/or give more stress about the wedding.

    1. TK says:

      I agree that it was very rude of her, but I won’t let her and others affect me. Instead, I’ll just write posts about them and find the comedy in the situation 🙂

  4. HumaAq says:

    Aahh so rude.. What does she know 😒

    1. TK says:

      I have no idea! I think she has heard too much from the other ladies that come into the gym that spend more hours criticizing each other and standing on the scale rather than working out.

  5. artman413 says:

    That’s just completely uncalled for. I don’t know why people take it upon themselves to tell you how you should look (though I’m sure I’ve been guilty of the same to some extent). Even the most helpful intentions mean nothing if you’re going to be so toxic about it.

    And especially to phrase it that way, “Oh, have you stopped coming? Because you look the same…” The amount of self-control it must take to not slap that person’s face off their head.

    1. TK says:

      The whole time she was talking, I was thinking, wow, this is going to make a great blog post. So that’s what stopped me from being rude to her, because I saw the comic value out of the situation.

      I almost never comment on the way people look, even if they ask me to. Not even my sister can get feedback from me, because I feel this is just too personal…

Leave a Reply

