Personalizing Our Wedding: The People

on

For the longest time ever, I truly hated attending weddings. I always thought that it was too much of a hassle to get all made up, put on a long evening gown, and pretend to be happy for people I barely knew or barely saw.

Let’s also not forget about what a hassle it is to have to stand in a buffet line while everyone around you tries to cut in. It’s just food, people… Take it easy.

Then things started changing. My own friends started to find their soul-mates and their wedding invitations started coming in, one by one. Slowly, the number of gowns in my closet started increasing (because what a shocker would it be to repeat the same dress when you have the same groups in attendance).

Slowly, I even started liking these things.

Not because of the decoration, not because of the food, not because of the zaffe, and definitely not because I’m looking for an excuse to listen to trashy Arabic pop.

It’s because I love seeing families and friends coming together to celebrate a beautiful day in the lives of two people.

I love walking into a wedding venue and seeing the reception line, beaming mothers and fathers and siblings welcoming the guests and feeling utterly excited. You can see in their faces. Or maybe it’s just the nerves?

To me, this just sets the tone for the whole thing. When everyone is excited, you know it’s going to be a great night. I won’t even get started on the father of the bride! What a great amount of stress he must be feeling!

Then my second favorite part is when all the friends come together to start the party after all the food’s been eaten and all the motions have been done. All it takes is for one right song and one right person to get up on the dance floor to have a party that everyone can join in and everyone can enjoy. Even the aunties. I’ve seen it happen.

I know from my own wedding planning experience and our engagement that those are the parts I am most looking forward to, but especially having our families reunite because everyone is scattered all around the world, with barely enough of a chance to see each other.

It’s become a running joke that we need to charter a plane to pick up our families from wherever they are. Add our friends to the equation, then this plane probably needs to make a trip around the world.

So it’s no surprise that I’m still very excited, a week after I got the news, that one of my best friends already booked her ticket to come to Beirut for the wedding. I’m equally excited that a lot of our friends and families have been able to factor us into their plans- but with this particular friend, the excitement level is higher because it will also be her first time here.

With the preparations starting to go into full swing, I often find myself browsing for ideas on how to make the wedding more personal and reflecting who Ahmad and I are.

The truth is, there is no website that can do that for us because the answer is right in front of me: our guests are the ones who will make it more personal with their laughter and dancing and efforts – and I think it’ll be a night to remember!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. HumaAq says:

    I enjoy your journey to walk the aisle.. Keep this happy face 🙂

  2. artman413 says:

    “and I think it’ll be a night to remember!”

    I certainly hope it is. 🙂

    1. TK says:

      Thank you! 😀 I’m really grateful that I’m able to write about it and know that there are people reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

