A Wedding Feast?

on

When it comes to food, I am undeniably a fan. I love food, I love new flavors, I love experimenting with weird combos and I especially love eating out. As you can tell from going through this blog, we try a lot of places because we like eating out once a week.

I also cannot wait to finally, finally, finally use my new kitchen with its shiny stainless oven and my mixer. I really like baking but the oven at my parents’ house is sub-optimal. I also don’t know where we keep the mixer because we didn’t bother to use it before.

Given that, I’m definitely the kind of person who truly wants to serve the best kind of food at her wedding, even though I probably will be eating none of those. I don’t want anything fancy or unpronounceable. While I’m willing to try, I think of my parents, in-laws, and grandmother before myself, and I know none of them are really open to having an Asian-inspired station.

I don’t know what all of this means.

Side note: Have you ever seen a bride eat at her own wedding? I keep being told, no bride does, and it would be very un-lady-like if I do. This doesn’t really sit well with me, guys!  You mean I have to kiss and hug a 100 people and pose for photographs without a single bit of food in my system? All while everyone else around me enjoys the selections I spent months thinking about?

We struck up a nice deal with one of the venues we are seriously considering by being able to choose one of two caterers, one cheaper than the other, but its not just about cost. Quality matters too. Especially that I’ve had to give up the idea of having a seated dinner because its just not within the budget. So we compromised. A buffet, it is.

Two weeks ago, we had a meeting with the higher end caterer, who had prepared a six (I kid you not, SIX)  page menu full of everything that could make your stomach rumble and fill you up with enough food to keep you dancing until dawn. They seemed very professional and extremely well put-together (I even got to tour their kitchens) and answered all of our questions about everything. The only downside, we agreed, is that they aren’t very good at cake designs, but given our engagement cake fiasco, this isn’t a top concern of me anymore.

We left that meeting a bit hungry, to tell you the truth. Six pages make for a lot of food- and that offer included stations for  Shawarma, grill, fajitas and mini-burgers. I had to veto the mini-burgers before the wedding started turning into a Sunday picnic.

But of course, no decision has been made until we meet with caterer B, who have not left a very good first impression- though it’s not their fault, there’s been a misunderstanding. We’ll see how things go when we meet with them this weekend.

Meanwhile, excuse me while I go plan how I will actually try all of this. Doggy bag them, maybe?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. artman413 says:

    Shawarma and fajitas…I could eat those all night.

    Sounds like a tasty..err..lovely wedding!

    1. TK says:

      That’s excluding everything else on the menu. The other caterer sent a 3 page proposal but only because the font was smaller. This is going to be tough.

      1. artman413 says:

        Well good luck to you! I’m sure it’ll turn out fantastic!

  2. HumaAq says:

    Good menu.. I ate at my wedding. Well it was just enough to survive lol

    1. TK says:

      But just enough is better than nothing!

  3. Uday says:

    In India, the bride and the bridegroom do eat at their wedding but only after everybody else has eaten!!

    Anyway, all the best to you in the search! May the tastiest caterer win 😛

    1. TK says:

      Thanks! I need all the luck I can get because of how much I love food. I’m afraid of not making a decision!

      In Lebanon, the bride and groom are so overwhelmed by people surrounding them and coming up to hug and kiss them and then taking photos and dancing, that they just forget to eat! Or even look at one another 😛

Leave a Reply

