Forwards

on

When Ahmad and I met, the last thing on my mind was getting into a relationship. Just days before, I had resigned from a job I had thought I wanted and my focus was on finding something else, fast.

September 2013: Exciting times call for big smiles

On the other hand, the last relationship I had been in was time-consuming and energy-draining. It caused me to swear off long-distance relationships and ones where I wasn’t a 100 percent invested.

I didn’t want my feelings to be hurt or to hurt someone else in the process. Call it a sign of growing up.

Then this man walked into, or rather messaged his way into my life. Multiple Whatsapp messages were sent back and forth before we finally met in person on the first day of Spring of that year. This first meeting was on the campus of the university we both attended, and as usual, I got delayed because of traffic.

I found him sitting on the main steps: red-checkered shirt, jeans, and neon yellow sneakers. Even seated, he was the tallest man there.

So I confidently approached him and said “Waiting for someone?”

Soon after, we became a couple and since then, we’ve had plenty of conversations, face-to-face and through our phones. It’s not really hard given that he’s extremely easy to talk to and always gives interesting insight on any topic.

But of all the conversations we’ve had, there’s a particular one that has always stayed with me, and not because I have it as a screenshot:

You have this curiosity in your soul that the more I know of, the more I respect and adore. And it extends to everything in your life. You want to learn, get exposed to new things and enjoy your time no matter what. From new musical styles to locations and countries, you always push us forward. I might be a routine kind of guy, but together, I highly doubt we will feel bored or in a rut.

This came on a day I was feeling particularly down at work and that in turn was making me question everything that was going on in my life. This was just the perfect affirmation that things were going more than just okay.

Little did I know that we were about two months away from that beautiful first day of Fall of that year, where we would go back to those steps, he would look me straight in the eyes, while gripping my hand tightly, and tell me, “I’m starting to think about us getting married.”

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Uday says:

    Oh what a lovely note that was! You both are really lucky to have found each other 🙂

    1. TK says:

      Thank you! I feel utterly blessed 🙂 Wishing you all the happiness, always.

  2. HumaAq says:

    Oh sweet moment,.,

    1. TK says:

      One of my favorites actually!

  3. Lee says:

    What a beautiful story. You two look meant for each other. Have a great life!

    1. TK says:

      Very kind of you to say! God bless!

  4. That is a lovely story. Wish you all the good things in life!

    1. TK says:

      Thank you for lovely comment! i wish you the very same 🙂

  5. ninakimani11 says:

    The most sweetest thing I have read so far. Wishing you all the best to both of you 🙂

    1. TK says:

      Thank you! That means a lot to me. Wishing you much happiness!

Leave a Reply

