We Are Moving

It was only a matter of time before my family started kindly requesting I start emptying out the corner (it had expanded to so much more than that) my household items were occupying in our reception room.

My excuse had been that I couldn’t keep anything in our own apartment until I changed the locks- and the space stopped looking like a construction site. But with those two being done, there wasn’t much we could do anymore.

So on Monday, while it was raining heavily, we loaded up the Focus with all those bags and finally took them to where they are supposed to be.

image

I kept taking pictures of the whole process to which Ahmad replied, “great my whole life’s on your blog.” But if those big moments of starting to move to our own home aren’t documented, I don’t know what else should be.

Excited doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel about this. The closer we get to the wedding date, the happier I feel that we will finally be able to enjoy all the hard work we’ve been putting into this place for close to a year. I know we just want to be settled in our home without any interferences or anyone telling us what to do.

image

I haven’t unpacked yet, though. But I should soon for fear that I might start forgetting what items I got- especially for the kitchen. I know that a house is not furnished overnight but I still lack many essentials- like pans (but I do have my whole baking set ready).

Next up, in addition to the unpacking, is starting to move my clothes and books and personal items.  I was actually a bit in shock when my mom told me that she would be taking my winter clothes to my house. It took a moment to realize that this would be the last seasonal clothing exchange in this setting- and I got a bit sentimental.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rimak18 says:

    I can’t imagine how emotional (and scary!) it must be to start moving! Best of luck! I am sure when the time comes, you won’t be able to wait to settle in your new place:)

    1. TK says:

      Emotional, definitely! I’m kind of in this in between state where my parents’ house isn’t mine anymore but my own house isn’t mine yet, like my heart is split in two. Thank you for your wishes and for reading! 😀

Leave a Reply

