Just Three Songs?!

on

Three songs that are significant? Just three songs? This is going to be tough, I think to myself the moment I wake up and read today’s assignment for Writing 101, a little course I’m taking online this month.

Three songs? I’m the kind of person who cannot do anything without music in the background: writing, reading, gym, housework- I even go to the supermarket with my earphones in. Maybe it’s because I always wanted my life to be like the movies, where there’s always a well-thought out soundtrack to underscore the moments, big and small.

So even if I spent the whole day writing, rather than the suggested 15 minutes, I won’t be able to point out all of the most significant songs that I’ve heard and loved. But I can try.

The Chain- Fleetwood Mac

It was our last date before we officially became a couple. I can’t remember what number we had been on, because we went on so many dates that first couple of months. But I still remember, we went out to watch football. Or rather, he wanted to watch the game and I just wanted to spend time with him. I even dressed up for the occasion in a green wrap dress that I loved so much.

We were sitting in this 50’s style diner that has now closed, waiting for the match to start, sipping our coffee, and just laughing about the most random of things- as we still do till this day.

Soon enough, the topic turned to music and to famous bassists. He plays so it was an interesting topic for us to have. Then, I don’t know what on Earth possessed me, I dug out my iPod from my over-sized purse, handed him one of the earphones, took the other- and scrolled to The Chain by Fleetwood Mac.

I didn’t say anything except how much I loved this song and how I thought he would too. Many years before we met, Fleetwood Mac became one of my favorite bands, and I formed an obsession with Stevie Nicks.

It was the reaction on his face when the famous bass solo came on that made me feel certain this is the man I want to share all of my passions with.

Sultans of Swing- Dire Straits

I was about to graduate from my Bachelors Degree- and I was about to travel. But first, I actually needed to present and pass my senior project, which was something about Green Cities and their impact on human health. The deadline was coming up, and in my typical fashion at the time, there was nothing ready.

I can’t make this up. I had the outline and some basic research done, but the real bulk of the work? Nothing. At the same time, I had just grown obsessed with Dire Straits and loved the upbeat melody of Sultans of Swing, so I used that to motivate me to write my project in under 3 nights- a project that I should’ve finished over the course of a semester.

This song never fails to make me happy. I tend to find the longest live version of it, with the most solos and I just break out into my own performance anywhere I am and anywhere it comes on. I always just have this huge smile on my face whenever it plays- and my dream is to see Mark Knopfler play it live and sing it at the top of my lungs.

Larger than Life- Backstreet Boys

I have the weirdest taste in music among everyone I know. I love rock and all but I have a soft spot for pop, especially if it’s of the 90s boyband variety.

The Backstreet Boys were the first ever band that I listened to, growing up in Saudi Arabia. I actually had to beg and plead with my parents that I would be on my best behavior during an IKEA trip if they would buy me their latest album (at the time) Millennium. Larger than Life, at the time, had just come out, and it was everywhere. We didn’t have internet or access to cable TV at the time, but somehow that song used to follow me everywhere.

And when I got the cassette (look I’m so old!)? No one could escape my obsession. I learned it word for word, even learned the harmonies and the background vocals. I then moved onto the video clip and tried to learn the moves, without any success, even to this day. I even blackmailed a girl at summer camp into being my friend by lending her my copy of the tape.

I was either 7 or 8 at the time, I don’t remember. I’m 24 now and I still listen to this on loop when I need a pick-me up or I need to remember good times that have passed. Or I want to tease my fiance while we’re in the car. He facepalms so hard, which is cute, which means I’ve been successful!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. artman413 says:

    Another solid post about memories of good times past, and a good expression of your passion for music.

  2. A very fluid and entertaining writing style. Nice to read your story listening to the music. Thank you!

  3. Hayley says:

    I also enjoyed listening to the songs as I read about the memories they invoke for you – you’ve inspired me to attempt to add a video into mine! I felt the excitement of your date and sharing the music you love with the man you love 🙂

    1. TK says:

      Thanks! I even picked the versions of the songs that felt the most significant. The live ones for the first two because they’re better than the original studio ones in my opinion- and the original one for the third because of the video.

      1. Hayley says:

        They were great choices! I love Dire Straits too so it was nice to hear them as you re told your stories! (I also listen to an eclectic mix of music which ranges from rock, to indie, to house, to classical, to pop. I also grew up with 90’s boy bands such as Backstreet Boys and Take That and East 17) So I definitely identified with your musical taste!

  4. danblogs994 says:

    Firstly, I love the title of the post! I was shocked and confused by the fact I only had to choose three songs.
    Very well written piece, the decision to feature the YouTube videos was a really good one, makes it so easy to access everything. A well written post from a self-confessed music enthusiast, keep it up! 🙂

    1. TK says:

      Thanks! I’m reading your blog on a daily basis and really enjoying how you’re tackling these challenges 🙂

      Three songs is too little! I’m known to make playlists for the simplest of things so it felt hard to sum up my experiences!

      1. danblogs994 says:

        Haha thanks I appreciate it!
        Give me thirty songs to talk about then I might be able to do them all justice, three was really difficult 🙂

        1. TK says:

          I agree! Well maybe this can become some sort of weekly feature for our blogs? Maybe that was their point?

Leave a Reply

