Being Happy

on

I was on Lebanese Blogs this morning just before the working day started, as I usually do everyday. One particular post caught my eye on Playing with Fashion: 10 Simple Things That Make Me Happy. I didn’t think much of it, just that it’s a super cute post that definitely made me happy reading it.

Then I started the workday and realized it wasn’t going to be a particularly happy day: a patient is fighting for her life, my schedule is all messed up, there’s a ton of problems going on, I haven’t had time to eat, etc.. Oh, and I don’t have a topic for a blog post for today.

So inspired by the post, here’s my list of things that make me happy- this list excludes my family and fiance, because well duh! If they don’t make me happy, then what’s the point?

Singing at the Top of my Lungs

Ahmad calls this my karaoke mode. He’d be talking to me one second only to find me belting out whatever’s on the radio with no regard or concern to whatever we were previously discussing. Annoying? Sure! But, it’s my way to vent and there’s absolutely nothing more incredible to me than discovering that I still remember the words to songs I haven’t heard in years.

Reading and/or A trip to the Bookstore

The day I got my Sony E-Reader was a magical day in my life. I was living in the Netherlands at the time, and suddenly, I could read my books everywhere! On the train, at university, in airports, on the bus without having to drag along my heavy books. And I truly do like my books heavy! I’m known for my ability to finish off books as quickly as I start them, so I can never get enough.

A Sunny Day and a Good Cup of Coffee

If I could do one thing all day, I would just love to sit in a quaint cafe (or even Starbucks) and just sip on my coffee while taking in the sunshine and watching people come and go, thinking about what their lives must be like and what’s on their minds.

With a view like that…

Presenting in front of a Group of People

I know many people get performance anxiety, but not me. I love being able to stand up and discuss things and present what I’ve worked so hard on. And then I get this massive happy rush when I know people are listening and asking questions. It comes second nature to me, which makes me wonder why I didn’t become a teacher.

Completing a Workout

I’ve been proudly working out for two and a half years now and when I’m away from the gym, my mood gets turned around and not in a good way. Something about having time to myself while seeing the results in a short period is what pushes me and keeps me going. Plus, I love the music!

Looking at Old Photographs

The person that invented digital cameras deserves an award for his contribution to society. Because of that, I am able to just click on one of the hundreds of files I have and go on my own journey of nostalgia and remembering.

One of my favorite photos: Brussels 2012

Salsa Classes

I never knew something that required me to maintain my balance and coordination would bring me so much joy yet six months in, I couldn’t be happier that I took up salsa dancing. It’s taught me so much about myself and given me something to enjoy on my Friday nights.

This Guy Right Here

I lied when I said this list doesn’t include my fiance. Because after all, and especially after a tough day like today, seeing him is the one thing I could count on to change my mood, to listen to me, to make it a bit better even if it’s just for a little while.

Leave a Reply

