Bad English Has Many Purposes: Discovering the Hell-Buddy

I was on the verge of falling asleep yesterday in my class on Innovation and Quality Management. No wait, that’s not right. I was asleep, but with my eyes open.

It has everything to do with the fact that I now do my finest studying after midnight and nothing to do with the fact that I spend the day thinking of what to cook and my magically ending up on YouTube and Facebook- no no.

So in that particular lecture, we had a guest speaker talking about implementing telehealth in the Netherlands and the aspects of that innovation. Except telehealth became more like taylahealth due to his really bad English.

Now I understand that English is not most people’s first language- as is the case for me- and I really don’t want to go grammar Nazi on anyone, but really, taylahealth?

I wish I could say that was the end of it though.

As the lecture progressed, the speaker made his way to discussing the hell buddy system. Now while I am very familiar with the health buddy technology, which aims to facilitate interaction between the chronically ill and their healthcare providers, I have no idea what the hell buddy is. 

Maybe this could be a possible explanation?

I also fell asleep during photoshop classes- excuse me.

Of course this prompted my flatmate, classmate, and big fan of this blog (for reasons I still fail to understand) to post this on my Facebook wall.

Please note that we are indeed Masters' students

What would the world do without bad pronunciations?

Make you fall asleep in class, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

