The Absolutely Important Trip To IKEA

on

Graduate students must really have a tough time because if our group is any indication, the simplest thing will make us ecstatic.

Like a trip to IKEA.

Hello there, old friend

For me, going to IKEA is practically a family tradition. I’m not sure when my first trip there was, but I’m pretty sure it was before I could start forming memories. And as a kid, I completely hate the store because it involved so much walking. But as I got older and started paying attention, I would actually get excited and buy more stuff than my mother.

Have I mentioned that we still, to this day do not have an IKEA in Lebanon, and that I do all this shopping in Saudi Arabia?

So naturally I was beyond excited when the group decided to hop on the train to Herleen, about 20 minutes away from Maastricht, and spend the day there.

Despite the company and the quaint scenery, I have decided I hate trains.  For me, they move far too slow! But still, the trip was made bearable by the discovery that this part of the flatlands actually had hills and the realization that half the train was full of overly eager masters students, who alone, would make IKEA’s business run for a year.

Yes, I don't believe it either

There, we split up, agreeing to meet an hour and a half later at the cafeteria.

Note: no visit to IKEA is complete without stopping by the cafeteria. 

To say I was like a kid in a candy store would be an understatement. Though I only really needed a pillow and a bath mat, I ended up stuffing my cart with far too much stuff that I presume I will need during this year here.

If you’re an IKEAholic, like me, you would understand this feeling too well,

But if you’re not, well first that’s too sad. 

No, no just kidding.

There’s something about that store, despite its lack of windows and warehouse appearace that just draws you to buying and buying.

Maybe its the way everything is set up or the wide variety and choices.

By the time we met up for lunch, I still hadn’t finished my shopping. The break was welcome, as I treated myself out to some schinzel with frizes, as well as a slice of chocolate cake. I also discovered, that unlike Lebanon, where you can take as much packets of mayo and ketchip as your hands can carry, here they charge you for each pack. Mustard, however, is free and the Lebanese philosophy might apply.

They were really enjoying their meals, don't be fooled

The trip ended with about two huge bags of stuff, including but not limited to a trash bin- and please don’t ask me how I made it home. But fortuantly, the guys in our group are true gentlemen and I only had to carry one of the two until I got back home.

Honestly, only two of those bags were mine!

So the master students went home with their shiny new stuff in the big bright blue bags.

This particular student, on the other hand, just set her stuff down and fell asleep on her couch before putting everything in their right places.

Well at least I think they’re in the right places.

And she has to go back soon for the rest of the stuff she couldn’t bring back this time.

Happy Master Students!
Leave a Reply

