Some Songs About Travel

My mind is too focused on packing and organizing to even think of putting together a decent post today. Yes, shame on me, I know, especially that I’ve been thinking of some really good content lately but I promise that it will be up very soon.

But for now, I’ll share with you something about me that somehow relates to this whole travel thing.

I love music. In fact, I adore it to an extent that I cannot do the most basic thing without having my earphones blasting something preferably from the 70s or 80s or belonging to the rock genre. And now that I’m travelling, I’m putting together a little playlist of songs that seem most appropriate for the nerve-wrecking occasion.

Like It Or Not- Darren Hayes   (2002)

I discovered this song in 2007, just a few days before I headed to Thailand for a family vacation and so this song will forever be related to that trip. And I happen to think of it as the best travel love song ever. Too bad it was never released as a single.

Now I’ve always had a soft spot for Darren because he was part of Savage Garden, who sing my favorite song, Truly Madly Deeply, and I think he write brilliant songs.

This song is no exception. The way it starts off, you feel that you’re standing in the airport along with him, waiting for a connecting flight instead of the one he was supposed to take to America, all because he’s hopelessly in love with someone and he’s not afraid to make a fool out of himself. And to top it all off, you get to learn what’s the most appropriate amount of luggage to take with you should you ever pull a similar feat. Hint: you, a laptop, and two suitcases.

Everywhere- Fleetwood Mac  (1987)

Shame on me for discovering the awesomness that is Fleetwood Mac so late and thanks to a show called Glee. But I’m glad I did because now I can’t stop replaying their songs over and over again. Everywhere is one of those songs you could’ve sworn you’ve heard a million times but never actually knew it was for- and now that you do you can’t get over it,which actually happened to me.

Another love song, it’s about wanting to be with that person everywhere. Simple and upbeat, the song is written and sung by the super talented and often overlooked Christine McVie, while Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham provide the background harmonies. And of course you can’t forget about the incredible music. A song definitely worth hitting replay over and over again.

City of Blinding Lights- U2 (2004)

An all-time favorite song of mine, it’s a song about growing up and seeing the world. The circumstances which inspired this song include U2’s concert in New York after the September 11th attacks, and if that doesn’t make for heavy material to write a song, I don’t know what does. I often hum this to myself while I’m waiting at the airport for reasons I cannot begin to understand- apart from how catchy and beautiful the melody is.

Did I mention I absolutely love, love, love this video?

A Whole New World- Aladdin OST (1992)

Do I even have to comment on how appropriate this song is or just how beautiful the scene in which this song appears is? Even though Aladdin is far from being my favorite Disney film, this song has always been on my iPod and I listen to it every time I travel. In addition, it reminds me of a near and dear friend and constantly singing this song at the top of our lungs.

I Want it That Way- Backstreet Boys  (1998)

While the song has nothing to do with travel, it was shot in an airport!

And when I was younger, it was the only song that could calm me down before, during, and after boarding – because of my wonderful fear of airplanes. And even though I stopped liking the Backstreet Boys in the same capacity as when I was in school, it’s a song that I always include on any travel playlist.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Johannes says:

    What about “Leaving on a jet plane” from John Denver? Don’t know exactly, how you will go to the Netherlands… 😉

Leave a Reply

